Key figures – University of Copenhagen

Forward this page to a friend Resize Print Bookmark and Share

Faculty of SCIENCE > About the Faculty > Facts & Figures > Key figures

Key figures

Staff and students

At the Faculty of Science there are:

  • 4,500 full-time equivalents (academic staff + technical and administrative staff)
  • 9,500 full time BSc and MSc degree students
  • 1,150 PhD students


The Faculty of Science has an annual turnover of DKK 3 billion. This figure does not include property and building proceeds, i.e. rent, etc. See the Budget for the Faculty of Science.

Buildings and facilities

The Faculty of Science is situated on each of the University of Copenhagen's four campuses: the Frederiksberg Campus, the North Campus, the South Campus, and the City Campus. There are additional units and facilities situated in Helsingør, Nødebo and Taastrup among other locations. See map of the campus areas.

Study programmes

Roughly 9500 students are engaged in the Faculty's 21 BSc and 35 MSc programmes.

An additional 1150 PhD students round out the student population.

Departments and centres

The Faculty of Science is home to 12 departments. See the list of the 12 departments. There are 15 basic research centres at the Faculty, and 24 ERC grants in FP7 and so far seven ERC grants in HORIZON 2020 with scientists from SCIENCE as the Principal Investigator (PI).